Bye Bye Gap

Gap is closing 200 of their 900 stores by 2013. Company spokesperson said they are focusing on modernizing their look. They want to focus on a younger generation. I can see where they are coming from. They Gap brand reminds me of Ann Taylor but no as attractive to young adults.

My mom loves the Gap so I know she will probably be upset. Where will she get her flare jeans? Gap has some signature looks that will be missed. Where will the laid back worker women shop?

The company wants to shift marketing dollars to come up with fresh, fun, new ideas for the brand. I personally think this is a good idea. I do like the clothes that are in the Gap but frankly I feel like I’ve seen it before from previous seasons. They like to stay with the same colors and the same designs.

I would like to see more bold patters, edgy shaped tops, statement jeans and some nice shoes. They have some shoes now but I don’t think they’re very well made.

I look forward to seeing what they come up with. In today’s fashion industry you have to continuously be changing and updating in order to stay alive and appealing to their shoppers.

The drawing stylized word The Gap mark is a re...
The GAP store at Castlepoint Shopping Centre
Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a Reply

